Today is Christmas

I wrote this letter in the half hour before I left for work today. I work as a waiter at Covenant Village of Cromwell, a retirement home near me. I wrote just one page, and made it as simple as possible. I tried to capture Christmas within just one page, and to encourage the people I affectionately call “my old people friends”. I placed a copy on each table for them to read, and they liked it so much that some even took copies back to their apartments. I’m so happy I work at a Christian workplace, as Covenant Village is founded around Christian values (not something you see too often up North). This letter, however, is applicable to all walks of life – not just the elderly. It may apply to you too.



Today is Christmas. It’s kind of a big deal. But lately, I haven’t been feeling like it’s a big deal.

As I get older – I’m merely eighteen now – Christmas has slowly lost its wide-eyed magic. And this year, my first Christmas coming back from college, it seemed almost dead. Christmas snuck up on me. And this morning, I felt more tired than joyful. I didn’t want to feel like that, but it didn’t change the fact that I did.

But as the day progresses, I’ve found some perspective. Part of writing this is to talk to you, and part of it is for me. And that’s how all writing is.

As I write, I’m listening to A Hallelujah Christmas by Cloverton. And I feel a sense of awe.

The Christmas story, to some, has become stale. Yeah, Mary had Jesus. What else is new? But I tell you that the story is never old. It becomes new every day, and that’s not some lame cliché.

The night of Jesus’ birth can be summed up in one sentence:

The fabric of reality was torn as an infinite being constrained Himself to a finite existence.

God, in all His splendor, came to us. To our Earth. To experience our pain.

And He did it for us.

Some of you are saddened by holidays because family is not as close as it once was. Some families did not visit today. But I want to tell you something.

Jesus did. This day is a celebration of His visit. A celebration of the day that He came to be with us. And He even tells us that He is with us. In Matthew 28:20, Jesus says, “I am with you always.”

See, even when we forget, God is still there. And He loves you. He loves you so much. And the sole purpose for Him coming to Earth on that first Christmas…was for you.

As we go our separate ways tonight, let us all remember that even though we are tempted to view today as just another day, today is special because it’s about Jesus. And since it’s about Jesus, it’s also about you.

Because Jesus was God’s gift to you. And that kind of gift can never have a price.

Thinking of you,

Chris Darius

Leave a Reply

